Interstate-8 : A Modest Mouse Fan Collaborative News Band Songlist Discography Tour Dates Music Message Board
Interstate-8 RSS Feed

Year: 2011 | Month: June
Posted 2011/06/27 at 18:40 | By: Gregg | Tags: Isaac Brock, New Material, Release, Side Project, Ugly Casanova

Isaac Brock composing another film score

Pitchfork is reporting that Isaac will be scoring the upcoming film Queens of Country, written and directed by Ryan Page and Christopher Pomerenke. Both of whom were responsible for 2009's The Heart is a Drum machine, which Isaac starred in. The film stars Ron Livingston, Lizzy Caplan, and Tool's Maynard James Keenan.

Living in a fantasy era long gone and obsessed with old time country stars, the prettiest girl in a small Arizona town finds a lost iPod filled with songs that speak to her sensitive heart. Jolene Gillis is convinced the owner is her soul mate and she is thrust into a sexy, heartwarming and hilarious adventure of mistaken identities, ATVs, line dancing competitions, kidnappers, time machines and doppelgangers.

We will continue to report on this as more information is known, but seeing as how filming just began, that could be a few months. It will be interesting to see if this turns into another Ugly Casanova project, similar to the work that was done for 2010's 180° South.

Filming began on May 3, and the movie is slated for a 2011 release. Isaac's score is to be released in 2012.

Source: Pitchfork: Modest Mouse's Isaac Brock Composing Score for Lizzy Caplan Comedy Film Queens of Country

Posted 2011/06/23 at 23:49 | By: Gregg | Tags: Modest Mouse, Release

Unreleased Modest Mouse track to appear on charity compilation

We have been told that an old 1996 era Modest Mouse track will be featured on an upcoming three disc compilation entitled "Live From Nowhere Near You Vol II" coming out July 19.

The compilation has been compiled by Kevin Moyer and consists of collaborating street musicians, friends and professional musicians. The majority of the music recorded in his attic and basement studios, donated spaces, live on the street, and in alleyways or under bridges. With the purpose of the album being to tell the story of life on the streets and the roads leading to and from there.

All profits from this release will be donated to Outside In, a non-profit organization in Portland, OR focused on providing aid and counseling to homeless youth.

Kevin has managed to assemble an impressive array of artists to support this cause, alongside Modest Mouse, the likes of Pearl Jam, James Mercer, Elliot Smith, The Strokes, Corin Tucker, Bright Eyes, and many more.

To keep the media interested, they will be releasing the track list bit by bit over the next few weeks. Right now, all we know about the Modest Mouse track is that it is circa 1996 and that while it is not unknown, it is unreleased. It is speculated that the track could be something off Uncle Bunny Faces', as there was talk back in 2009/2010 of a track being wanted for a compilation album. Keep an eye on their Facebook page, where they will be releasing more details in the coming days, and of course we will keep you updated with any information as we receive it.

Right now, the album is available for pre-order through Greyday Records' website for $15. Canadians (and maybe others) please note, there seems to be a problem with the shipping options, as only express options are available. We're informed they will be looked into, so maybe hold off until then.

Source: Live From Nowhere Near You Vol II 3xCD + MP3 PRE-ORDER Live From Nowhere Near You Vol II [GDP-050]

Posted 2011/06/08 at 21:17 | By: Gregg | Tags: Joe Plummer, Release, Side Project

UPDATED: Mister Heavenly - Out Of Love

Mister Heavenly is... a trio of men who love dogs.

Something I missed while being away...

Mister Heavenly, the side project of Joe Plummer and members of Man Man and The Unicorns, will be releasing their debut album, Out Of Love, on August 16 through Sub Pop.

The tracklist is as follows:

  1. Bronx Sniper
  2. I Am a Hologram
  3. Charlyne
  4. Mister Heavenly
  5. Harm You
  6. Reggae Pie
  7. Pineapple Girl
  8. Diddy Eyes
  9. Hold My Hand
  10. Doom Wop
  11. Your Girl
  12. Wise Men

You can grab the tracks "Mister Havenly" and "Pineapple Girl" from this post we did on them back in January. Sub Pop says keep your ears open for more tour dates. Joe is also expected to be performing with The Shins this summer.

UPDATE (2011/06/13): Mister Heavenly have announced a 14 date West Coast tour starting in August. Check the dates, as well as the artwork for Out Of Love, over at Consequence Of Sound.

Source: Sub Pop Records: Mister Heavenly : Out of Love

Posted 2011/06/07 at 23:35 | By: Gregg | Tags: Jeremiah Green, Release, Side Project

Tactile Waveforms

Seattle design and production company, Süperfad, team up with director Nando Costa (The Whale Song video) and World Gang to release the short film Tactile Waveforms.

Süperfad's latest short film, directed by Nando Costa, explores the connections between science, mathematics and music. Drawings representing a musical score are released into stylized landscapes that illustrate conditions through which sounds travel. These drawn representations react in different ways when traveling through the desolate landscapes, transforming into impossible musical instruments and altering elements in the environment along the way. The film's structure is defined by World Gang's music composition, which features classic instruments altered electronically to create the track. Working in a push and pull relationship, the film's video and audio abstractions unite in an experience that is both otherworldly and rooted in tradition.

And a reminder that World Gang's live album, Live At The ENDOFTHEWORLD 3/11, is out this Friday after having been delayed a month.

Source: Süperfad :: work :: Tactile Waveforms

Select a theme for your browsing experience: